San Diego Business Journal

The San Diego County Bar Association announced that Johanna Schiavoni will serve as president of the organization for 2020.

Schiavoni is an appellate attorney and founder of her own boutique appellate firm, Law Office of Johanna S. Schiavoni.

According the SDCBA, “Schiavoni handles high-stakes civil appeals in federal and state courts covering a broad spectrum of legal areas, ranging from employment law to contractual disputes, business torts, and class actions. She also represents indigent criminal litigants when appointed by a court, routinely litigating complex criminal and constitutional law issues.”

Schiavoni has served in a number of leadership positons with the San Diego County Bar Association including the Appellate Practice Section and Court Funding Action Committee, she also served as treasurer and vice president.

“At the SDCBA, we are focused on building a strong and inclusive community — within our membership, with the judiciary, and in the broader community we serve,” Schiavoni said. “We also strive to help our members advance as leaders, to provide them the tools to innovate and grow their law practices, and to celebrate the profession,” she said.

“I am particularly honored to serve as the SDCBA’s president in 2020, when the nation will celebrate the 100th anniversary of the 19th Amendment and women’s right to vote, and at a time when there is an increasing focus in our public dialogue about the importance of the courts, the role of attorneys, and the rule of law,” Schiavoni said.

Schiavoni’s community roles include co-founding the San Diego Leadership Alliance, serving as the 2013-2014 president of Lawyers Club of San Diego, being on the board of the San Diego County Regional Airport Authority.

Schiavoni will serve as the SDCBA’s 113th president and the 14thth woman in that role.

Current SDCBA President Lilys McCoy will serve as immediate past president in 2020.

Renee Stackhouse has been elected to succeed Schiavoni and will serve as president-elect in 2020. Stackhouse is a trial lawyer focusing on plaintiff’s personal injury, military, and criminal defense.

Additionally according to SDCBA, Samantha Begovich, Roxanne J. Carter, Warren K. Den, and Kimberly Swierenga have been elected by the SDCBA’s membership to serve three-year terms on the board.

Linh Lam, Gary Barthel, David Majchrzak, Teodora Purcell, Marissa Bejarano, Victor Bianchini, Nicholas Fox, A. Melissa Johnson, and Khodadad “Ko” Sharif will continue their service on the board in 2020.

The chair of the association’s New Lawyer Division, Stephanie Sandler, will also serve a one-year term on the board. Two vacant board positions were set to be filled by appointment, according to the association.

The 2020 SDCBA Board of Directors will take part in an installation ceremony at “Stepping Up to the Bar,” the association’s annual holiday reception, December 13. This year’s event will be held at The Guild Hotel in downtown.